Wednesday, 3 October 2012

On this Day: 3rd October 1990, East and West Germany are unified

At the end of World War II, the Potsdam Agreement divided pre-war Germany into four occupation zones, one controlled by each of the four  Allied powers: the USA, UK, France and Soviet Union.

Tensions between the western powers and Soviets remained high and on the 7th October 1949 the German Democratic Republic (East Germany) was declared. The majority of those living in the new Eastern Bloc nations aspired to independence but by the early 1950s, the Soviet’s had instead begun to restrict national movement.

On the 13th August 1961, the border between East and West Berlin was closed and East German troops installed barbed wire fences along the 156 kilometres (97 mi); the precursor to The Berlin Wall.

The next 28 years saw a bitterly divided nation, at the forefront of the Cold War. In May 1989, the East German regime began to falter when the removal of Hungary's border fence opened a hole in the Iron Curtain.

Six months later, The Berlin Wall officially fell on the 9th November 1989 although in its entirety was not torn down immediately. What followed was the ‘Peaceful Revolution’ a series of protests by East Germans. This led to negotiations between the German Democratic Republic and Federal Republic of Germany that culminated in Unification Day on the 3rd October 1990 when five new Federal States were created, and East and West Berlin were unified as a single city-state.

Photo Legacy: Making your memories last forever

Image courtesy of: Neftali /


No comments:

Post a Comment